Canada Visa Application

Posted on 25/01/2018

Chances are, if you’ve got this far, you don’t need any persuading to visit Canada, but what a country! Not only is it unimaginably vast (second only to Russia), it has a huge range of terrain and culture: huge cities and vast mountain ranges; awesome skiing, kayaking and hiking; rivers and lakes, more trees than you can shake a stick at.

It’s one of those places that whenever you go, you’ll be blown away. Nowhere has winters quite like Canada, they’re something to experience; and summers are bursting with life like no other place on Earth.

Canada is an advanced nation with world-leading healthcare and technology sectors, as well as a fantastic music and art scene.

Plus, the Canadians are just great people.

So, that’s Canada. Now, how to get there?

If you’re just planning on visiting, you’ll need to complete your Canada Visa Application.Here’s how to get your Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) , or electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) if you’re from a certain countries exempt from the visa and arriving by air.

You’ll need the IMM 5257 form, available online from the Canadian immigration website. It is possible you’ll need to attend the consulate or embassy to be interviewed for your reasons for visiting Canada. Don’t worry though, 20 million plus people visit Canada every year, so you shouldn’t have a problem unless you do not fulfill the conditions for your Canada visa application.

It’s a smooth process but can take some time, so make sure you get it done weeks before you are planning to travel to Canada.

When applying for a Temporary Resident Visa you’ll need:

  • A valid passport
  • No criminal convictions*
  • Identification documents
  • Proof you won’t be staying in Canada indefinitely
  • An invitation letter from a sponsor in Canada
  • Be able to prove your visit is justified

*If you have a criminal conviction, you’ll most likely need to apply for a special permit (Temporary Resident Permit) or Criminal Rehabilitation to prove you have been rehabilitated.

If you’re from a visa exempt country – there’s a list here – you don’t need to apply for a visa, you can apply for an eTA online. Once you have your eTA, you can travelt to Canada right away. You won’t need a Canada Visa Application. The eTA should only take a few minutes, but if you’re required to supply supporting documents, it can take some days, so make sure you’ve made time.

However, if you’re not on the list of exempt countries (there’s a list on the above link), you must apply for a visa (TRV).

Your eTA or TRV will be linked to your passport, so if you’re a multi-passport holder, bring the one you applied with or you won’t be let in.

The eTA costs CAD $7.

United States citizens are exempt from eTA requirements, you have the right to visa free access.

Once you have the visa or eTA, you can land in Canada and have a great time. is the official Canadian government website that you can apply through.

If you need any assistance, contact Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant Mary Zhang at Maxcan Immigration in Markham, Ontario. We at Maxcan have years of dealing with Canada Visa Application issues.


If you are a citizen of one of the following countries, you need a Canada Visa Application. If you cannot find your country on the list, you need an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA). The one exception is American citizens.

  • Afghanistan (biometric information required)
  • Albania (biometric information required)
  • Algeria (biometric information required)
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh (biometric information required)
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia (biometric information required)
  • Republic of Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Colombia (biometric information required)
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the (biometric information required)
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of the Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt (biometric information required)
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea (biometric information required)
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti (biometric information required)
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (biometric information required)
  • Iraq (biometric information required)
  • Israel (only Israeli citizens holding valid Israeli “Travel Document in lieu of National Passport”)
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jamaica (biometric information required)
  • Jordan (biometric information required)
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, North
  • Korea, South
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos (biometric information required)
  • Lebanon (biometric information required)
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya (biometric information required)
  • Lithuania (holders of non-biometric passports only)
  • Macao S.A.R.
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives Islands
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia, Fed. States
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma) (biometric information required)
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria (biometric information required)
  • Oman
  • Pakistan (biometric information required)
  • Palau
  • Palestinian Authority (biometric information required)
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland (holders of non-biometric passports only)
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • St. Lucia
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sao Tomé e Principe
  • Saudi Arabia (biometric information required)
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia (biometric information required)
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan (biometric information required)
  • Sri Lanka (biometric information required)
  • Sudan (biometric information required)
  • Surinam
  • Swaziland
  • Syria (biometric information required)
  • Taiwan (except holders of the ordinary passport issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Taiwan that includes their personal identification number)
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia (biometric information required)
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam (biometric information required)
  • Yemen (biometric information required)
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Posted in Tips and tagged Visitor Visa

Related Posts