Air travel
Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) now Available for 13 more new Countries

Posted on 08/06/2023

In 2017, citizens from Brazil, Romania, and Bulgaria were given the option of using an electronic travel authorization to fly to Canada (or transit through Canada by air). Now this is being extended to 13 other countries under the same conditions given to Brazilians, Romanians, and Bulgarians back in 2017.

To see how this works, just ask yourself the following two questions:

  • Have you had a Visitor Visa to Canada over the last 10 years?
  • Do you hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa?

If you are a citizen of the following list of countries and answered yes to either one of the above questions, then you can now travel by air to Canada on an electronic Travel Authorization (eTA), rather than apply for a Visitor Visa. Please note that if you are travelling to Canada by another means, like car, or cruise ship, you still need a standard Visitor Visa if you are from these countries.

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

An eTA is a digital travel document for foreign nationals who are exempt from the requirement to apply for a visa to visit Canada. An eTA is valid for up to 5 years or when your current passport expires as your eTA is electronically linked to your current, valid passport.

You apply for an eTA online (using the link below) in a process that takes a few minutes in most cases. However, it may take a few days if you are asked to submit additional documents.

Step 1: Read this guide first to make sure you have what you need when you apply for your eTA. In general, you’ll need:

  • A valid passport
  • A valid Credit Card
  • A valid email address and access to the internet

Step 2: Go here and scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the dark blue Apply for an eTA button to start the process. The application fee is CAD$ 7 paid using a credit card.

Step 3: When you receive your confirmation email (if your eTA is approved) PLEASE CHECK that your passport number in the confirmation email is correct. If not, apply again for a new eTA.

  • If you renew your passport before travelling to Canada, you must also apply for a new eTA.

Step 4: When you check in at the airport for your flight to Canada, make sure you have the same passport you used to apply for your eTA. If not you won’t be able to board your flight. This is because your eTA is an electronic travel authorization linked to your specific passport number.

PLEASE NOTE: If you already applied for and received a visitor visa to Canada, you can still use that visitor visa to travel to Canada, as long as it hasn’t expired.



Posted in News Tips and tagged eTA, Visa-free countries

Related Posts